Never Ask Why – Life With 6 Kids

25 Learning about bedtime

Posted on: October 1, 2009

So, I start my life with 4 kids.  We start getting into a daily routine.  The trips to all the fun places are over – thus the honeymoon has ended.  What the hell do I know about raising kids?  About the same as any other new parent – maybe a little less.  But when you bring a baby home from the hospital they don’t have the ability to move around like 4-8 year olds do.  When you put them to bed they stay there.  They may scream but they stay in bed.  Now i’ve got all these kids I have to bathe and get to bed.  I soon learn that bedtime sucks.  At the time Joe was working second shift and I was working first shift.  That meant getting these 4 kids to bed was all my responsibility.  How do you get kids to stay in bed?  How do you get them to be quiet.  Will they ever go to sleep?  I just wanted a bit of quiet time before heading off to work the next day. 

At the time we lived in a cape cod home.  The kids slept on the main level and Joe and I had a room upstairs.  So the kids would sneak out of their rooms and watch the TV that I was watching.  They would get up and pester me about all kinds of things.  I was losing my patience – and fast!

1 Response to "25 Learning about bedtime"

I love the new look of the site!

Also, I can feel your pain about bedtime. You’re tired, the kids are tired and everything gets on your last nerve – it just isn’t right. Kids should like going to bed!! Where is my magic wand when I need it?

Leave a comment

October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages

Recent Comments

Jori on 25 Learning about bedtime
Leslie on 15 A bit more info
Samantha McMillion on 11 Adoption here we come…
Kim on 11 Adoption here we come…
Jori on Joe